Availability of Spruce

The place to raise issues, ask questions, swap ideas and discuss anything related to aircraft engineering, maintenance and building.
NB Any opinions expressed in this forum are not necessarily those of LAA Engineering

Moderators: John Dean, Moderator

traumahawk1973

Availability of Spruce

Post by traumahawk1973 » Sat Dec 08, 2012 5:18 pm

Hello all.
As a prospective builder, I find myself rather perturbed by the availability, or rather lack of availability, of decent Sitka Spruce, or Douglas Fir.
What happens when these materials are just not available anymore, or become (more) prohibitively expensive?
Do we just stop building? Is there an alternative?
What happens if you start a project using Spruce, and say 10 years down the line, (you may be a slow worker) you find your project being abandoned due to there being no stocks of wood left?

Maybe I could capitalise by planting a load of trees now, and in 20 years time, reap the benefits by selling for a kings ransom what is essentially (and let's not get romantic here because it's in an aircraft) nothing more than a damn plank of wood.

Since we're not seeing Minimaxes, Luton Minors, and Clutton Freds raining from the skies due to structural failure when their exotic Spruce disintegrated from the effect of mach shock waves at a dizzying 65mph, can we leave the 'exotic' and expensive timber for the important bits and use something sensible and available for the rest of the airframe that has to cope with the pounding an asthmatic 80 year old Nazi derived flat four will administer?

Maybe some of us with multi ratings could steal the Spruce Goose and dismember that ugly old white elephant, and distribute the wood amongst LAA builders like some kind of latter day sawdust covered Robin Hood!

Onward and upward!
Stewart Mason

Bill McCarthy

Re: Availability of Spruce

Post by Bill McCarthy » Sat Dec 08, 2012 7:00 pm