'Airdrome Aeroplanes' (USA)

The place to raise issues, ask questions, swap ideas and discuss anything related to aircraft engineering, maintenance and building.
NB Any opinions expressed in this forum are not necessarily those of LAA Engineering

Moderators: John Dean, Moderator

Nigel Kerr

'Airdrome Aeroplanes' (USA)

Post by Nigel Kerr » Thu Aug 25, 2016 2:00 pm

Forgive me if someone has already raised this, (I could not locate any topic in the search section on any part of the forums), but as a prospective builder I wondered if anyone in the UK has obtained a kit through 'Airdrome Aeroplanes' or if the LAA have 'authorised' any of their kits?

I know that the company has been around for 10 years or so (since the last time I looked into building my own aircraft) and would have thought their designs / kits (or at least timber lists) would have made it over the pond by now?

Ian Melville

Re: 'Airdrome Aeroplanes' (USA)

Post by Ian Melville » Thu Aug 25, 2016 7:52 pm

Nigel, most of them are microlights, but the company with the most involvement with them is Grass strip aviation Ltd http://www.grass-strip-aviation.com. I spoke with George Simoni at the SSDR Freedom Rally and there are more aircraft in the pipeline than the website would indicate. IIRC there is a Neuport being built in the UK, and you will have almost certainly seen the Eindecker. Best to give GASL a call.

Some will fall under the SSDR banner, so no need to BMAA or LAA involvement.
Ian Melville

Nigel Kerr

Post by Nigel Kerr » Thu Aug 25, 2016 10:00 pm

Thank you for your reply.

I do recall looking into Grass Strip Aviation's products several years ago, but was disappointed that they only had two 3/4 scale aircraft on the books, neither of which appealed.

If I recall I think I gave up my search then for the ideal 'home built' aircraft (if there is such a thing) at that point.

ColinC

Post by ColinC » Fri Aug 26, 2016 12:49 pm

Hi,