Certified 8.33 vhf

The place to raise issues, ask questions, swap ideas and discuss anything related to aircraft engineering, maintenance and building.
NB Any opinions expressed in this forum are not necessarily those of LAA Engineering

Moderators: John Dean, Moderator

Rick Heath

Certified 8.33 vhf

Post by Rick Heath » Thu Sep 01, 2016 12:04 pm

Hi All, please excuse my ignorance, as I'm new to the LAA & considering building an aircraft,

I'm trying to do some costings at the moment, but I understand that a kit built plane has to be LAA approved, but an uncertified Rotax engine is fine. therefore, is an ICOM IC-A210E 8.33 which doesn't seem to be certified in the UK, ok to use? it seems to be ok in other European countries, but here it is sold as a ground to air radio.

thanking you in advance :)

ColinC

Re: Certified 8.33 vhf

Post by ColinC » Thu Sep 01, 2016 1:58 pm

Hi,

don't consider my advice definitive (I am at least as fallible as every one else here), but I think only the IC-6E and IC-24E 8.33kHz versions are allowed in the UK. From memory it was more an acceptance than a formal examination and approval.

There is more info here: http://www.icomuk.co.uk/News_Article/3794/18068/

Colin
Colin Cheese

Rick Heath

Post by Rick Heath » Sun Sep 04, 2016 2:22 am

Thanks Colin

Rob Swain

Post by Rob Swain » Mon Sep 26, 2016 4:30 pm

Rick Heath wrote:...as I'm new to the LAA & considering building an aircraft...
...is an ICOM IC-A210E 8.33 ... ok to use...
Forgive me, but I think you may be getting bogged down in the detail.

If you are at the stage of 'considering building' then you are sufficiently far away from fitting radios that I can almost definitely say that regulations, your aspirations, and product availability may be very different by the time you are seriously looking at radio fitments!

I don't mean to be dismissive of your ambition, or wish to discourage you in any way. Aircraft construction is a truly laudable and praiseworthy endeavour.