LAA Aircraft ID plates

Come on in for general chat and POLITE banter between LAA members

Moderators: John Dean, Moderator

tim

LAA Aircraft ID plates

Post by tim » Tue May 12, 2009 6:27 pm

Just considering an LAA Aircraft ID plate but as the requirement is for a fireproof plate (and when I studied engineering, aluminium, while not exactly flammable had a low melting point) I assume that I will still need a stainless steel plate in addition?

If so, just what is the point of the LAA version?

Sandy Hutton LAA372

Post by Sandy Hutton LAA372 » Tue May 12, 2009 9:43 pm

tim

Post by tim » Tue May 19, 2009 9:54 am

Sandy,

Thanks for the link, interesting but still nothing definitive has come out of the threads.

I would also correct Brian Hopes reply in that discussion when he states that stainless steel has never been specified as the material... Brian please check one of your organisations documents TL1.06 Issue 3 1st Jan 2008 paragraph 2.9.

"A stainless steel plate upon which the aircraft registration is engraved should be fitted to the cockpit"

Now that's what I call definitive and confirms that the LAA ID plate (aluminium) STILL needs augmenting with a SS plate!
Tim Jinks

Sandy Hutton LAA372

Post by Sandy Hutton LAA372 » Tue May 19, 2009 12:08 pm

Well Tim, if I was your Inspector, I'd be looking for a Steel plate in or around the cockpit in plain view. If you had an LAA aluminium one present as well I'd certainly admire it for a moment but I don't think I'd be particularly fussed unless it was fastened to some primary structure or hanging off.

Never mind what Mr Hope says, he's not part of the certifying arrangements in the LAA engineering dept, he can only express his opinion which you can accept or dismiss. I'm with Stuart Mac.

Cheers
Sandy :D

Rod1

Post by Rod1 » Tue May 19, 2009 12:37 pm