Condor undercarriage

Come on in for general chat and POLITE banter between LAA members

Moderators: John Dean, Moderator

H Stuart

Condor undercarriage

Post by H Stuart » Sun Nov 13, 2011 10:53 pm

Hi,
Anyone got either a pair of Condor U/C legs or parts or the teardrop pistons. My Condor is a bit duck toed so I am ussuming this is the cause. I'm new to the Condor so any advice much appreciated.

ThePipster

Post by ThePipster » Tue Nov 15, 2011 4:42 pm

Hi Stuart,

Speak to Pete Smoothy at Airworld UK, he seems to know alot about that type of undercarriage leg.

Phil
Phil Hall

Jim Alex

Post by Jim Alex » Tue Nov 15, 2011 7:27 pm

:D If you mean "toed-in" they were built that way.

H Stuart

Post by H Stuart » Tue Nov 15, 2011 8:15 pm

Hi,
Thanks The, I'll give Pete a ring and see whats available.

Ive heard that Jim and it makes sence to have some toe-in to counteract the legs splaying out on impact, but this on mine seems a little more than ideal. I have a friend who has the 62c and his looks much straighter and seems easier to pull around.

H Stuart

Post by H Stuart » Tue Nov 15, 2011 8:17 pm

Woops,
Sorry Phil, didn't notice your signature at the bottom.

Gaznav

Post by Gaznav » Sun Nov 20, 2011 8:37 pm

My Condor has a few degrees of toe out and it should be like that!

Read here why toe-out is required... http://www.eaahighriver.org/Newsletters ... 0_NEWS.pdf
Gary Coleman

Gaznav

Post by Gaznav » Sun Nov 20, 2011 8:43 pm

PS. Here's an article from Pilot Mag and it describes the "toe out" on the last page. I suggest you don't modify the toe out to neutral as this would be a modification and LAA Eng will have a fit!

http://www.janestevens.co.uk/rollason/p ... 20Test.PDF

Happy flightings!
Gary Coleman

H Stuart

Post by H Stuart » Mon Nov 21, 2011 12:13 am

Hi Gary,
That's very interesting and I have experienced the handling mentioned in the second article but not in a scary way (as P2 only).