Flying in France

Come on in for general chat and POLITE banter between LAA members

Moderators: John Dean, Moderator

Trevor Bates

Flying in France

Post by Trevor Bates » Sat Jan 03, 2015 12:14 pm

Hi All ,I plan to fly to Alderney in the summer,and then into France,Although I have been flying for many years,I have not been to France.could anyone suggest an interesting itinerary for a first timer? Duration about a week in June,i,m not a great French speaker.many thanks Trevor GCESA

tnowak

Re: Flying in France

Post by tnowak » Mon Jan 05, 2015 8:16 am

Trevor,

Depends what you want to see.
The Loire area is well worth a visit if you want to do touristy things (Saumur, Amboise for Chateaux).
La Rochelle and Il d'Oleron for the west coast scenery.
Chartres and Rouen for cathedrals etc.

Tony
Tony Nowak

rogerlewis88

Post by rogerlewis88 » Mon Jan 05, 2015 9:34 am

Tony has got it about right for the Loire valley. For the west coast I would add Quiberon and Ille dYea.

Always handy to know a couple of airstrips that offer accommodation as well. For example see http://www.aero-hesbaye.be/Voyages/laba ... driere.htm which is a good place for the Loire valley and Quiberon for the north west coast where the town and accommodation is walking distance away. There are many other similar places which contributors to this forum will no doubt be able to suggest. I have a 300 m strip which you are welcome to drop if you are passing en-route.

Saumur is also a great place to visit and is amid the Loire valley vineyards. If you enjoy your June trip, consider coming back at the end of summer when there are many 'harvest' festivals. I am thinking of the Le Grand Table http://www.saumur-champigny.com/grandes ... 9es-56.php at Saumur which has a great atmosphere and a week-end grape picking fly-in the autumn which I am organising at a local vineyard.