landing tops (nose heavy ?)

Come on in for general chat and POLITE banter between LAA members

Moderators: John Dean, Moderator

mumdad696969

landing tops (nose heavy ?)

Post by mumdad696969 » Fri Jun 05, 2015 10:43 am

Hi all . I have a rans s6 . & am struggling getting nice landings with it . I have plenty of experience on other types . Including tail draggers . But finding the rans a bit tricky . There's no gentle round out , hold off & flare , it drops rapidly on finals when I chop the power . & flare is quick & it drops quite quickly . It's a little nose heavy . Is this an issue ? I've tried flaps . No flaps . Different speeds etc . But more often than not , the landings are all the same , any advice or thoughts gratefully received

Mike
Mike Gregory

Nick Allen

Re: landing tops (nose heavy ?)

Post by Nick Allen » Fri Jun 05, 2015 11:54 am

Have you tried keeping a little power on all the way down? Or alternatively a judicious waft of power to cushion the flare? (I fly a lightweight taildragger, and both of these techniques help.)

mikehallam

Post by mikehallam » Fri Jun 05, 2015 1:24 pm

Presume this relates to the same enquiry as on the BMAA forum ?
In which case I've just posted some gen. there, with sketches.

mike hallam.

mumdad696969

Post by mumdad696969 » Mon Jun 08, 2015 10:21 am

Hi Mike yes same issue . Still pondering on my tail incidence ? I have a lot more than 1 degree negative . But surely if I reduced this ? I'd make the problem worse ? Also . I've heard about power on landings before . I'll def try that . As someone suggested that with power of , glide approach . You have to haul the stick back at the last minute & arrive aircraft carrier style ! That's what it's like ! I've always tried to use glide approach . To help in case of engine failure . But maybe a powered approach & a trickle of power on flare is the way to go with a nose heavy rans ?
Mike Gregory

mikehallam

Post by mikehallam » Mon Jun 08, 2015 11:39 am