How to become an LAA Inspector?

Come on in for general chat and POLITE banter between LAA members

Moderators: John Dean, Moderator

Seanjd

How to become an LAA Inspector?

Post by Seanjd » Wed Apr 13, 2016 9:42 pm

I have been thinking about this, and contacted LAA engineering to find out more, expecting to have a discussion about what is required, where to find the relevant information and then expected a discussion about my skills and experience :|
But this did not occur. Instead it was a very short chat and I presume because my name was not recognised, then my enquiry was not taken seriously.
So, forgive my frankness, but is it an 'old boys network' type club, or is there a formal process for becoming an inspector?
My background is 22 years RAF Airframe Technician, Inspector/supervisor having worked on Tornado, Harrier, VC10, Hercules and 3 years supporting the Air Cadets at Central Gliding School (Syerston) Vikings & Vigilants (Grob109's), including everything from major modifications, minor & major servicings, functional tests, repairs etc. Not your average LAA aircraft type, but a lot of knowledge and experience easily transferrable. I now work for a major defence company having worked in Health & Safety, Human Factors and recently started as a regulatory auditor having just completed an LRQA Lead Auditors course in ISO9001:2015.

I am EASA PPL(SEP) current with tailwheel sign off.

Regards

Sean

Edited - A friend who is a BGA Inspector has shown me through their information and approval process, which appears to be quite comprehensive https://members.gliding.co.uk/airworthi ... nspectors/
Sean Donno

Chris Martyr

Re: How to become an LAA Inspector?

Post by Chris Martyr » Fri Apr 15, 2016 10:02 am

Sean,,,,,,,All of the above, :roll:

Oh ,,and you have a PM mate. :D

P5151

Post by P5151 » Fri Apr 15, 2016 11:06 am

Hi Sean,