I want an RV7a

Come on in for general chat and POLITE banter between LAA members

Moderators: John Dean, Moderator

neilmurg

I want an RV7a

Post by neilmurg » Sun Jul 22, 2018 6:11 pm

Is this the right place to post this?
I would like an RV7a, and it seems like the best place to find one would be in the US. I have a share of a Fuji right now, and I'm a novice at buying / shipping / re-registering. So I'm looking for advice, and advice on where to get advice.
At the moment I'm wondering
What does shipping from (say) Miami or Texas cost
Who can I ask to evaluate an a/c
Will I need to re-register as a G- or can I fly it as an N with a 61.75 US license (which I don't yet have) - does that preserve it's aerobatic and IR status?
Can I piggy back a US IR on a 61.75 US PPL
Regards
Neil Murgatroyd

mike newall

Re: I want an RV7a

Post by mike newall » Mon Jul 23, 2018 10:11 am

There are a selection of 7's on AFORS.

Don't be shy of a taildragger, much more practical and an easy conversion - no vices whatsoever.

johnmichie

Post by johnmichie » Mon Jul 23, 2018 7:34 pm

Neil

The place to post all things RV is the RV Sqdn Forum. Go to www.rvuk.co.uk, another excellent site, and click on the "rv sqdn forum" tab in the top row. This tells you how to join.

I know several people who have imported, some quickly and easily, some it took up to a year and was difficult because of the different build regime (EAA versus LAA) in the US. If not built to plans, or with mods, it will have to be corrected to conform with LAA Permit conditions. You do have to be very wary.

Once here the plane will have to go on the UK register, and be individually flight tested and cleared for aeros. IFR (and night) approval is possible but is much more complex.

A note to the Forum will get replies from people who have done it, and answer many of your questions.

John

P5151

Post by P5151 » Wed Jul 25, 2018 10:33 pm