Experimental status in UK

Come on in for general chat and POLITE banter between LAA members

Moderators: John Dean, Moderator

MarkMcConville

Experimental status in UK

Post by MarkMcConville » Tue Jan 19, 2021 2:14 pm

Hello everyone. I'm new to your Association. I am interested in buying my first aircraft and have been looking at a SportCruiser in Europe that is registered as Experimental. How straightforward would it be to put it on a UK register and what classification would it be? Roughly what would the costs associated with this be?
Thanks in anticipation

Steve Slater

Re: Experimental status in UK

Post by Steve Slater » Wed Jan 20, 2021 10:21 am

Hi Mark and welcome.

I think we'll need some more detailed information on the aircraft before we can give more detailed advice. Can I suggest you drop an e-mail to [email protected] with some of the aircraft details and we'll get back to you with more specific advice.

Steve
Stephen Slater

Clive

Post by Clive » Wed Jan 20, 2021 2:21 pm

Technical Leaflet 1.06 refers to importing aircraft:
http://www.lightaircraftassociation.co. ... rcraft.pdf

The Sportscruiser is an existing type to the LAA as you probably know, is 'inspectable' and as it's generally a bolt, pipe and wire homebuilt there's not a lot that can be cocked up structural wise. It would be a permit aircraft (PTF) and so is great as the association is built round supporting such types.

My suggestion would be, unless you are experienced in airframes etc, take an inspector with you, or someone with suitable skills and experience, and crawl all over it. Check it has all the requisite paperwork. Shouldn't be a big problem to import, maybe a grand in expenses to get it on the register? (wild guess). Maybe a sportscruiser owner could comment on any mods that they need that may not be incorporated on the continent. I believe early SC were a bit pitchy, tail was improved on later models.