Lonely aircraft

Come on in for general chat and POLITE banter between LAA members

Moderators: John Dean, Moderator

Condor62

Lonely aircraft

Post by Condor62 » Tue Nov 02, 2021 10:34 pm

Evening all,
I am quite new to the whole LAA world despite having spent most of my working life in aviation. Since starting flying again after a 24 year gap I am having a whale of a time learning tail wheels and maintenance in a wonderful Condor. I am now on the lookout for a single seat open cockpit semi aerobatic aircraft. I know this is not sensible or even rational but for the sheer joy of flight it looks a great idea. The problem I have is finding one! Amongst the wiser heads on here what is the protocol for tracking one down. I am aware of g-info but that isn’t that accurate, one potential aircraft is still registered to a chap who sold it some time ago. It also feels slightly like cyber stalking! I already spend way too much time looking at Afors. I have looked at a lovely candidate that unfortunately wasn’t aerobatic or spinnable but was told of a lovely Fury in pieces in one of the hangars.
My theory is that there must be a few out there that are probably loved but not used or out of permit unflyable so how do I track one down?

Ian Melville

Re: Lonely aircraft

Post by Ian Melville » Wed Nov 03, 2021 7:22 am

That is quite a short list of aircraft types, never mind the fact that you have to check out each one to see if it gained aerobatic clearance. May be easier to build one yourself? only kidding :D

I would just meet with owners of suitable types at fly-ins, rally's etc and let it be known you are looking to buy. If there is a type club, join that. Be prepared to wait.
Ian Melville

Condor62

Post by Condor62 » Wed Nov 03, 2021 3:57 pm